Nature & Adventure
Explore Nature & Adventure in Lebanon
Beaches & Seaside
Bird Watching
Camping
Caving
Cycling
Hiking & Trekking
Mountain Climbing
Skiing & Winter Sports
Water Sports
Nature Reserves / Al-Shouf Cedar Reserve

The Shouf Cedars are considered as the largest nature reserve in Lebanon, stretching northfrom Dahr El Baidar to the Niha Mountain south. The reserve covers intensive forests of oak trees on its north-eastern and south-eastern slopes. It is mostly distinguished by the three magnificent cedar forests: Maaser EL Shouf cedar forest, Barouk cedar forest and Ain Zhalta-Bmohray cedar forest. Its surface constitutes about the quarter of the total surface area of the remaining cedar forests in Lebanon.

The age of some cedars in the reserve is estimated at around two thousand years. The wide area of the nature reserve makes it an adequate site to safeguard medium-size mammals like wolves and Lebanese forest cats, in addition to many species of birds and wild plants, it is also considered as a popular place visited for hiking, mountain climbing, biking, walking on the snow and watching birds. From the top of the mountain, visitors can enjoy the exceptional panoramic view of the rural countryside and the lake of Qaraoun stretching from the Bekaa Valley east, to the Mediterranean Sea west.

 

How to reach there

1-From Beirut, head south on the highway towards the city of Damour which is about 20 Kmaway from the capital, from there follow the road leading to Beiteddine. Actually when you reach the village of Kfarhim you can either head south to Baakline, or head north to Deir El Qamarin both cases, you will later reach Beiteddine, from there, you can drive through Moukhtara then Masser El Shouf to finally ascend towards the forest. Diving from Damour to the nature reserve would last around 40 minutes.

2-From Beirut, follow the road of Damascus east towards the city of Alley which is about 20Km away from the capital. Then head to the town of Al Mdayrej by crossing the towns of Sofar and Bhamdoun. Afterwards, follow the road south by crossing the town of Ain Dara towards the Environment Guidance Center at Ain Zhalta. The drive from Alley to the nature reserve would last around 30-35 minutes.

3-From the town of Kefraya in the Bekaa, move west towards the entrance of the Maasser cedars, some 14 Km away from Kefraya. From the village of Maasser follow the road leading to Moukhtara to reach the entrance of Niha / Shkif Tyron stronghold which is about 15Km away from Moukhtara. Otherwise, follow the road of Dalboun-Barouk towards the entrance of Barouk cedars.

 

Contact and Information:

Website and email: www.shoufcedar.org, info@shoufcedar.org

Tel: 00961 5 350250 / 00961 5 350150

Username
Password
Forget Password ?

الطبيعة والمغامرة
إكتشف الطبيعة والمغامرة في لبنان
الشواطئ والبحر
مراقبة الطيور
التخييم
المغاور والكهوف
ركوب الدراجات
المشي
تسلق الجبال
التزلج والرياضات الشتوية
الرياضات المائية
المحميات الطبيعية / محمية الشوف المحيط الحيوي

تعد محمية أرز الشوف اكبر المحميات الطبيعية في لبنان وتمتد من ضهر البيدر شمالا" الى جبل نيحا جنوبا" . تغطي هذه المحمية غابات سنديان لحهة منحدراتها الشمالية الشرقية والجنوبية الشرقية  وأكثر ما تشتهر به هذه المحمية هو غابات الأرز الثلاث الرائعة وهي : غابة أرز معاصر الشوف وغابة أرز الباروك وغابة أرز عين زحلتا- بمهريه والتي تقدر مساحتها ربع ما تبقى من غابات الأرز في لبنان .

يقدر عمر بعض الأشجار بحوالي ألفي عام  وتشكل هذه المحمية ،نظرً لحجمها موقعا" ملائما" للحفاظ على الثديات المتوسطة الحجم كالذئب وقط الأدغال اللبناني ، إضافة الى أصناف متنوعة من الطيور والنباتات البرية. وتشكل محمية أرز الشوف الطبيعية مكانا" شعبيا" يقصده الناس للتسلق الصعب والرياضة مشيا" ومشاهدة الطيور وركوب الدراجات والسير على الثلج. ويستطيع الزائر من على قمة الجبل التمتع بمنظر بانورامي للريف وبحيرة القرعون يمتد شرقا"حتى وادي البقاع وغربا" بإتجاه البحر المتوسط.

 

كيف تصل الى المحمية

1- إنطلاقا" من بيروت ،أسلك الأوتوستراد جنوبا" نحو الدامور 20 كم عن بيروت و20 كم شمال صيدا . عند بلوغ الدامور أسلك الطريق المؤدية الى بيت الدين ، بعدما تجتاز قرية كفرحيم يمكنك سلوك طريق بعقلين جنوبا" ودير القمر شمالا" وتصل في الحالتين الى بيت الدين .تجاوز معاصر بيت الدين لتصل مدخل الباروك وعين زحلتا بمهريه.أما الى مداخل قلعة نيحا شقيف- تيرون أو معاصر الشوف توجه من بعقلين الى المختارة .يستغرق الوصول الى المحمية من الدامور حوالي 30-45 دقيقة .

2- إنطلاقا" من بيروت، أسلك طريق الشام شرقا" نحو عاليه 20 كم عن بيروت . عند بلوغ عاليه أسلك الطريق المؤدية الى المديرج لتجتاز قرى صوفر وبحمدون بعدها أسلك الطريق جنوبا" مرورا" بعين داره نحو مركز  التوعية البيئية في عين زحلتا . يستغرق الوصول الى المحمية من عاليه 30-35 دقيقة.

3- إنطلاقا" من كفريا في البقاع ، توجه غربا" نحو مدخل أرز المعاصر  14 كم من كفريا . عند بلوغ قرية المعاصر أسلك الطريق المؤدية الى المختارة للوصول الى مدخل قلعة نيحا/ شقيف تيرون 15 كم من المختارة أو طريق دلبون- الباروك شمالا" نحو مدخل أرز الباروك . 

 

الاتصال والاستعلام:

www.shoufcedar.org

هاتف: 009615350250
Username
Password
Forget Password ?