Nature & Adventure
Explore Nature & Adventure in Lebanon
Beaches & Seaside
Bird Watching
Camping
Caving
Cycling
Hiking & Trekking
Mountain Climbing
Skiing & Winter Sports
Water Sports
Nature Reserves

Nature reserves consist of an area of land or sea which bears an important ecological aspect and a beautiful landscape. They represent a cultural tourist and charming natural wealth devoted to protect and preserve the natural resources, especially the biological diversity. Nature reserves also represent the various ecological systems in Lebanon and constitute the main foundations of rural development policy. Besides, they are among the most important preventive means against industrial transformations, environmental deterioration, demographic growth, building expansion and the risk of wasting an important part of the country’s natural heritage together with its national wealth. That means nature reserves are considered as live witness to our national heritage, and therefore should be safeguarded for the sake of public interest and the next generations.

 

Lebanon includes thirteen nature reserves which constitute 3% the country’s total area. They represent a very rich biological diversity that covers around 370 species of residing and migrating birds, and over 2000 species of plants are typically Lebanese and some of them are sorted as medicinal, fragrant and nutritious. These are also around 35 species of mammals including wolves, hyenas, wildcats, porcupines and squirrels.

These nature reserves are founded and monitored under the auspices of the Ministry of Environment.

 

These nature reserves of Lebanon contain most of the remaining cedar forests in the country of the cedar.

The cedar forests in and out of the Lebanese nature reserves have an area of 2000 hectares distributed over nearly 12 forests and groupings among which “ Al Kamouah ” (nature protect site ), “ Ehden ” (nature reserve ), “ Bcharreh ” (nature reserve ), “ Tannourine ” (nature reserve), “ Hadath El Jebbeh” “ Jaj ”(nature reserve ), “ Ain Zhalta, Bmuhray, Barouk, Maaser El Chouf  ”(nature reserve ). Plans are currently underway to join the other reserves to the national network of nature reserves in Lebanon.

 

The thirteen nature reserves from North to South Lebanon are:

1-Ehden Forest Nature Reserve (Horsh Ehden)

2-The Palm Islands Park and Natural reserve

3-Tannourine Cedars Forest Nature reserve

4-Mshaa Chnanir Nature Reserve

5-Bentael Nature Reserve-Jbeil

6-Yammouneh Nature reserve

7-Al- Shouf Cedar Reserve

8-Tyre Coast Nature Reserve

9-Wadi Hujeir Reserve

10-Nature reserves of “ Ramia, Kafra, Beit Leef and Debel ”, established in 2011.

 

In addition to nature reserves, there are 28 protected forests and 17 natural sites in Lebanon.

 

According to international classifications, there are 3 biosphere reserves in Lebanon which were sorted by the UNESCO during its initiative “Man and the Biosphere”. The first biosphere reserve is Al- Shouf Cedar Reserve, nominated in the year 2005, it includes the Cedars of the “ Chouf ” and the swamp of “ Ammiq ”. Later in 2007, the mountain of “Al Rihan” site was also classified as a biosphere reserve, and finally the site of “Jabal Moussa” (Moses Mount) was nominated in 2008. Moreover, there are 4 sites in Lebanon of Ramsar classification for wet lands, that bear an international importance as a refuge for aquatic birds : “ Ras Chaqaa ”, “ Ammiq ” swamp, the two nature reserves of “ Palm Islands” and “Tyre ” which also bear a Mediterranean importance, in addition to 15 important sites for birds, and 5 others that are classified in the World Heritage List, among which the “ Qadisha Valley ” that is listed as a world cultural landscape.

 

The protected areas, especially the nature reserves play an important role in the safeguard of natural resources, namely bio–diversity. They are also considered as a prominent factor in the local and rural development. Actually, they attract a great number of visitors who carry out eco – tourist activities, thus contributing in raising the income of local societies who live in the vital surroundings of nature reserves.

The local committees of nature reserves and their working teams undertake the management of eco–tourism activities, in coordination and cooperation with a group of partners on the national level, especially the eco-tour operators and eco–tourism firms among others. On the local level, coordination is maintained by the owners of guest houses who offer accommodation and meals to the tourists, in addition to local guides who accompany the visitors and provide them with valuable information, besides ensuring their safety.

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------

 

 

Safety Rules and Forbidden Activities

 

Stay in the officially specified pathways, any violation in this matter could be dangerous and cause serious environmental damage.

Visitors are required to abide by the following rules: Take only memory and leave only your footprints

 

Forbidden activities inside the nature reserve:

-Smoking, setting fire for any reason

-Hunting

-Wood cutting

-Taking any kind of animals or plants, especially cedar cones

-Camping

-Bringing pets (domestic animals)

-Garbage throwing

 

 

What should the visitor bring?

Visitors should put on lasting shoes that are suitable for climbing or walking, and comfortable clothes, beside a woolen jacket, a rucksack, a hat, along with a bottle of water. They can also bring a camera, a field guidebook, a binocular and a walking stick.

Username
Password
Forget Password ?

الطبيعة والمغامرة
إكتشف الطبيعة والمغامرة في لبنان
الشواطئ والبحر
مراقبة الطيور
التخييم
المغاور والكهوف
ركوب الدراجات
المشي
تسلق الجبال
التزلج والرياضات الشتوية
الرياضات المائية
المحميات الطبيعية

إن المحميات الطبيعية عبارة عن مساحة من اليابسة أو البحر ذات الطابع الإيكولوجي الهام أو المنظر الطبيعي المميز، وهي ثروة طبيعية جمالية ثقافية وسياحية مخصصة لحماية وصيانة الموارد الطبيعية وخصوصًا التنوع البيولوجي، وتمثل النظم الإيكولوجية المختلفة في لبنان. كما أّنها من الركائز الأساسية في سياسة التنمية الريفية، وهي أيضًا من أهم الوسائل الوقائية من التبدل الاصطناعي والتدهور البيئي والنمو السكاني السريع والتمدد العمراني وخطر فقدان جزء هام من تراث الوطن الطبيعي وثروته الوطنية - أي أن المحميات هي وسيلة وقائية من التغييرات التي يدخلها الإنسان على البيئة؛ وبالتالي تعتبر المحميات الطبيعية شواهد حية من تراثنا الطبيعي وثروتنا الوطنية، ويتوجب حمايتها للمنفعة العامة والأجيال المقبلة

يوجد في لبنان ثلاث عشرة محمية طبيعية تشكل حوالي 3 % من مساحة وطن الأرز، تحتوي هذه المحميات على تنوع بيولوجي غني جداً يتمثل في حوالي 370 نوعاً من الطيور المقيمة والمهاجرة وما يزيد عن 2000 نوع من النباتات والأزهار البرية والكثير من هذه النباتات هي متفردة للبنان والبعض منها طبية وعطرية ومأكولة هذا بالإضافة إلى حوالي ثلاثين نوعاً من الثدييات نذكر منها الذئب والضبع والهرالبري والنيص والسنجاب.

وهذه المحميات تنشأ وتدار تحت إدارة وإشراف وزارة البيئة.

تحتوي محميات لبنان على معظم غابات الأرز المتبقية في لبنان.

تبلغ مساحة غابات الأرز في لبنان داخل وخارج المحميات حوالي 2000 هكتار موزعة على حوالي 12 تجمع وغابة نذكر أهمها القموعة (موقع طبيعي محمي)، إهدن (محمية طبيعية) ، بشري (غابة محمية)، تنورين(محمية طبيعية)، حدث الجبة، جاج (محمية مقترحة)، عين زحلتا و بمهريه والباروك ومعاصر الشوف (محمية طبيعية) على أمل أن تنضم المحميات الأخرى إلى شبكة المحميات في لبنان.

 

محميات لبنان الثلاث عشرة من الشمال إلى الجنوب هي: 

1- محمية حرج إهدن الطبيعية

2- محمية جزر النخيل الطبيعية

3- محمية غابة أرز تنورين الطبيعية

4- محمية مشاع شننعير الطبيعية 

5- محمية بنتاعل الطبيعية

6- محمية اليمونة الطبيعية

7- محمية أرز الشوف الطبيعية  

8- محمية شاطىء صور الطبيعية

9- محمية وادي الحجير الطبيعية

10- محميات رامية وكفرا وبيت ليف ودبل

 

إضافةً الى المحميات الطبيعية، يوجد في لبنان، ٢٨ غابة محمية و١٧ موقعاً طبيعياً.

 

بالنسبة للتصنيفات العالمية يوجد ثلاث محميات محيط حيوي (Biosphere Reserve) صنفتها اليونسكو من خلال برنامج الإنسان والمحيط الحيوي أولها محمية الشوف المحيط الحيوي في العام 2005 والتي تضم محمية أرز الشوف ومستنقع عميق و في العام 2007 تم تصنيف موقع جبل الريحان وآخرها محمية جبل موسى في العام 2008. كما ويوجد في لبنان 4 مواقع رامسار للأراضي الرطبة ذات الاهمية الدولية بوصفها موائل للطيورالمائية: رأس الشقعة، ومستنقع عميق ومحميتي شاطئ صور وجزر النخل كما وجرى تصنيف هاتين الأخيرتين محميات خاصة ذات أهمية متوسطية، و15 موقعاً مهماً للطيور و5 مواقع مدرجة على لائحة التراث العالمي  أحدها مصنف كمنظر ثقافي عالمي "وادي قاديشا".

 

تلعب المناطق المحمية لا سيما المحميات الطبيعية دوراً مهماً في حماية واستدامة الموارد الطبيعية وخصوصاً التنوع البيولوجي، كما تعتبر عنصراً مهماً في التنمية المحلية والريفية إذ انها تساهم بجذب عدد كبير من الزوار الذين يساهمون بدورهم عبر نشاطات السياحة البيئة برفع مدخول المجتمعات المحلية التي تعيش بمحيط المحميات الطبيعية الحيوي.

تقوم اللجان المحلية للمحميات وفرق عملها بإدارة نشاطات السياحة البيئة بالتنسيق والتعاون مع  مجموعة من الشركاء على المستوى الوطني وأهمهم منظمو الرحلات (Eco-tour Operators) وشركات السياحة البيئية وغيره، وعلى المستوى المحلي أصحاب بيوت الضيافة الذين يقدمون الإقامة والطعام للسياح والمرشدين المحليين الذين يرافقون الزوار ويزودونهم بالمعلومات القيمة والوفيرة ويؤمنون لهم السلامة.

 

---------------------------------------------------------

 

 

قواعد السلامة والنشاطات الممنوعة

 

إبق في الممرات المحددة رسمياً لأن إختراقها قد يتسبّب بأضرار بيئية كبيرة قد تكون خطيرة.
يُحث الزائر على التقيّد بالقواعد التالية: لا تأخذ سوى الذكرى ولا تخلّف سوى أثار أقدامك

 

لا يُسمح داخل المحمية بما يلي:

-التدخين، إشعال النار لأي سبب

-الصيد

-قطع الأشجار

-أخذ أي نوع من الحيوانات أو النباتات وبالأخص أكواز الأرز

-التخييم

-إدخال الحيوانات الأليفة

-رمي النفايات

 

ما الذي ينبغي إحضاره؟

ينبغي أن يكون الزائر مزوداً بحذاء جيد مخصص للتسلّق أو المشي وثياب مريحة وسترة صوفية وحقيبة ظهر وقبعة ومطرة ماء كما يمكن إحضار دليل ميداني وآلة تصوير ومنظار وعصا للمشي.



Username
Password
Forget Password ?