Explore / District of Akkar
Aarqa

Tell Aarqa is well known for its height. It comprises between 30 to 40 meters of accumulated fragments of ancient ruins. Its area is not more than 4,5 Hectares. At its peak, it is 147 meters high. It overlooks the valley and reveals a panoramic view from Tripoli to Arwad Island in Syria. Excavations in Aarqa, which began in 1970, uncovered structures that date back to the Canaanite period (the Bronze Age 300, 1200 B.C.) until the Mamluk period. Aarqa played an important role in the history of the district. It is mentioned more than once in the Bible and the texts that go back to the second millennium as well as in Assyrian texts that date back to the first millennium B.C. During the Roman period it was named the Tsarist of Lebanon because the Roman emperor, Alexander Severus was born in it (205B.C.) It was privileged by the emperor and it was between 40 and 50 hectares. At the end of the 4th century, it became surrounded by stony walls, and huge square towers were built. After the Islamic conquest, Aarqa became an important fortress owned by "Benou Aammar" (governors of Tripoli). Later it was captured by the Crusaders in 1108 to be taken later by the Mamluk Sultan, Baibars, in 1266. The Crusade occupation left important ruins on the Tell. To the Crusader wall which partly stands today, four square towers were added fortified by a trench,a front wall and a glacis. The wall was almost completely destroyed to provide stones for structures built in Tripoli during the Mamluk period, and it also provided stones for the neighbouring towers later on.


The Old Akkar
Near the old Akkar town lies a castle situated over a rocky protrusion at a height of 694 meters. It was built by Mihriz, a citizen from Akkar, at the end of the 10th century. The Crusaders captured it during the second century, but it was seized by the Mamluk Sultan Baibars in 1271 after capturing "Hosn al Fursan" in Syria. At the beginning of the Ottoman period, it was ruled by feudalists named "Banu Sifa", and in 1618 Emir Fakhreddine destroyed a part of it. It is said that he took some of its stones to Deir el Qamar. This castle (210 meters long, 70 meters wide) used to be a strategic spot in the district of Akkar. It was surrounded by five rectangular towers. Inside it there were two halls separated by a tunnel. The upper floor contains a vaulted pond. The upper part of the tower carries a frieze of lions that dates back to Sultan Baibars' time, who repaired it during the 13th century.
Akroum

It contains many archeological sites; rocky necropolis and ancient cemeteries built of heavy stones as well as remains of Roman temples. In Mount Hussein, there are two temples adjacent to each other. Only the temple which lies in the northern part of the site is still preserved. It contains a vault that separates the precinct from the sarcophagus. That is why there is a possibility of turning it into a church although it is oriented toward the west. Near this temple there are the remains of another larger temple. Inside and around it there are the remains of Corinthian friezes and chapters of columns as well as protrusions.

In Wadi es Sebaa (Valley of the Lion), there are two obelisks that date back to the new Babylonian period. The first represents someone whose head is covered with a crown, confronting a lion that is standing on its rear feet. Beneath this site, in Sheer el Sanam, there is another obelisk carved in the rock. The bottom protrusion shows a king oriented to the right. In his right hand, he carries something which cannot be identified. In the left one, there is a sceptre. There are other divine symbols like the star of Astarte which has seven sections and a crescent.


Menjiz

In the district of the shrine of god or (Home of Gelouk), there are remains of a small temple built of basalt stones dating back to the first century A.D. It is also known as Nemsis (the goddess of fortune and fate). There are inscriptions in Greek; one of them was done by the bishop Drusus on a pedestal of a statue in 262 A.D. During the Byzantine period it was turned into a church. The water pipes were preserved; they are north of the temple near a river and date back to the Roman period. In Menjiz, there is Saydet al Qalaat Church, which was built in 1890 A.D., over the ruins of an ancient European castle, the remains of which can be hardly discerned.


Username
Password
Forget Password ?

المناطق / منطقة عكار
عرقا

يتميّز تلّ عرقا بارتفاعه. يضمّ بين 30 و40 متراً من رواسب الآثار المتراكمة. مساحته لا تتعدّى عند قمّته أكثر من 4.5 هكتار. تشرف أعلى نقطة فيه (147 متراً) على السهل ويطلّ على منظر خلاّب من طرابلس حتّى جزيرة أرواد في سوريا. وأعمال التنقيب في التلّ (الّتي بدأت منذ 1970) كشفت هيكليّات من العصر الكنعاني (العصر البرونزي) (3000-1200 ق.م.) وحتّى عهد المماليك. لعبت مدينة عرقا القديمة دوراً مهمّاً في تاريخ المنطقة وورد إسمها أكثر من مرّة في الكتاب المقدّس وفي نصوص الألفيّة الثّانية والنّصوص الأشوريّة من الألفيّة الأولى قبل الميلاد. وفي خلال العهد الروماني، سُميت عرقا "قيصريّة لبنان" لأن الأمبراطور الروماني اسكندر ساويروس ولد فيها (205 ميلادي). كانت تتمتّع حينها بحظوة أمبراطوريّة وبلغت بين 40 و50 هكتاراً. عند نهاية القرن الرابع، أصبح التلّ محاطاً بسور حجريّ وبأبراج مربّعة ضخمة. وبعد الفتح الإسلامي، كانت عرقا قلعة مهمّة. امتلكها بنو عمار (من حكّام طرابلس) ثم احتلّها الصليبيّون في العام 1108 واستعادها السّلطان المملوكي بيبرس في العام 1266. وترك الاحتلال الصليبي آثاراً مهمّة على التلّ. وإلى السور البيزنطي الذي ما زال منتصباً بشكل جزئيّ، أضيفت أبراج مربّعة محميّة بأحدور وخندق وجدار أماميّ. ثم تمّ تدمير السور بكلّيّته تقريباً لتوفير حجارة لأبنية طرابلس في عهد المماليك ومحجرة للبلدات المجاورة بعد ذلك.


عكّار العتيقة

تقع قرب بلدة عكار القديمة قلعة عند أنف صخريّ على ارتفاع 694 متراً. بناها مهرز إبن عكّار في نهاية القرن العاشر، واحتلّها الصليبيّون في خلال القرن الثاني عشر قبل أن يستعيدها في العام 1271 السلطان المملوكي بيبرس بعد الاستيلاء على حصن الفرسان (سوريا). في بداية العهد العثماني، تولاها بنو سيفا الإقطاعيّون وفي العام 1618 دمّرها الأمير فخر الدّين الثاني جزئيّاً، ويقال إنه نقل بعض حجارتها إلى دير القمر. كانت هذه القلعة (210 أمتار x 70 متراً)  الّتي تحتلّ موقعاً إستراتيجيّاً في منطقة عكّار، محاطة بخمسة أبراج مستطيلة. في داخلها فناءان يفصل بينهما خندق. وحافظ الفناء العلوي على بقايا حوض معقود. وعند جنوبي القلعة، برج أساسي (13x13) تمّت المحافظة عليه . ويحمل البرج في جزئه العلوي إفريزاً من الأسود من أيام ترميم السلطان بيبرس في القرن الثالث عشر.


أكروم

فيها معالم أثريّة عدّة، منها: مقابر مبنيّة من بلاطات حجريّة ومقابر مغليتية (ذات حجارة كبيرة) وكنائس قديمة وبقايا معابد رومانيّة. في جبل الحسين هيكليّتان متوازيتان، لم يحافَظ إلاّ على الّتي إلى شمال الموقع، وهي من معبد تفصل قنطرةٌ بين مقدسه والناووس، ما يدفع إلى الاعتقاد بتحويل الصرح إلى كنيسة مع أنّه موجّه إلى الغرب. وعلى مقربة من المكان آثار معبد آخر، أكبر حجماً تتناثر داخله وحوله بقايا إفريزات وتيجان أعمدة كورنثيّة ونتوء. وفي وادي السّبع مسلّتان قد تعودان إلى الحقبة البابليّة الجديدة، الأولى شخصيّة موجّهة نحو اليمين رأسها مغطّى بتاج وتواجه أسداً منتصباً على قائمتيه الخلفيّتين. وتحت هذا الموقع، يضمّ شير الصّنم مسلّة أخرى منحوتة في الصخر على شكل مخروط. ويُظهر النتوء السّفلي ملكاً موجّهاً إلى اليمين، في يده اليمنى شيء غير واضح وفي اليسرى صولجان. وثمة رموز ألوهيّة مثل نجمة عشتار ذات الشّعب السبع وهلال.


منجز

في منطقة مقام الربّ (أو بيت جعلوك) آثارُ معبد صغير مبنيّ بحجر البازالت يعود إلى القرن الميلادي الأوّل. معروف أيضاً باسم "نمزيس" (إلهة الثروة والمصير). فيه إهداءات باليونانيّة، أحدها حفره الكاهن دروسوس على قاعدة تمثال في العام 262 ميلادي. في خلال العهد البيزنطي، تحوّل الموقع إلى كنيسة. وتمّت فيه المحافظة على قنوات مياه إلى شمال المعبد قرب نهر منجز وتعود إلى العهد الروماني. وفي منجز أيضاً كنيسة سيّدة القلعة المشيّدة سنة 1890 على أنقاض قلعة الفليس الافرنجيّة القديمة التي تبقى منها آثار غير واضحة.


Username
Password
Forget Password ?